The Kneighborhood of Knowledge

"Hey…Neighborhood is spelled wrong!"

Create South

So…slowly I’m gaining recognition in the “blogosphere.”

Recently, animoto.com contacted me about the projects that my classes produced. Nothing special…but they informed me of a classroom password that can give your classes a 3-month all access pass to animoto and everything it has to offer. Although the longer videos might be too much for some students to handle, it is nice to have that option.

As of last night, my request from donorschoose.org has been fulfilled. That was extremely exciting news! If anyone out there needs something for their classroom, but can’t afford it or doesn’t have the budget for it, you have to check out donorschoose.org. I wanted a classroom set of microphone headsets for various projects that required them, so I asked for 30. The total bill was almost $400. Last night donorschoose.org sent me an email informing me that my project had been funded. Awesome!! I can’t wait to get my shipment, it’ll be like Christmas!!

I’ve also been contacted by the people of Create South. They call themselves a “grassroots group of Grand Strand Bloggers.” Create South is having a conference here in sunny Myrtle Beach, South Carolina on Saturday, April 18th and they asked me to present during a session about blogging in the classroom. I’m honored!! That’s pretty neat!! I hope I don’t disappoint. I’m hoping that there will be some teachers in the audience since I can relate to them, but if they’re not in the audience, then maybe they know some teachers they can relay the information to. Regardless, this will be a great experience. I’m looking forward to it.
Bloggin’ in the Grand Strand

3 responses to “Create South

  1. Fran April 12, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    Congrats. Mr. G! I’ve had a friend get an LCD projector through donorschoose.org, so I need to try it out myself. I know your students will be thrilled to have the microphone headsets and the animoto possibilites. You have come a long way this year and I know you are excited about it!

  2. Pat April 12, 2008 at 7:35 am

    Congratulations on getting your funding! I know that is a great relief as well as excitement. I think it is great that you are asked to present at a conference! Hope it goes well.

  3. Cathy Nelson April 11, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    Congrats–you’ve had an awesome week, huh? I hope you shared with Mary. All well deserved.

Leave a Reply

