The Kneighborhood of Knowledge

"Hey…Neighborhood is spelled wrong!"

Animoto Projects

Ok. So I spent a few days in the Media Center, sans Cathy Nelson, and had my students complete a project using animoto.com. All things considered…it went really well!! The one major problem that I came across was that only one group was allowed to create a video at a time. That slowed the process down immensely. In fact, I still have a few groups that need to complete their slide show. Some of the videos came out really great. I’ll share a few with you below..

[kml_flashembed movie="http://widgets.clearspring.com/o/46928cc51133af17/47e04f3651fc5cbc" width="432" height="250" wmode="transparent" /]

[kml_flashembed movie="http://widgets.clearspring.com/o/46928cc51133af17/47e04fd0339096d0" width="432" height="250" wmode="transparent" /]

[kml_flashembed movie="http://widgets.clearspring.com/o/46928cc51133af17/47e0505c7a6e3c66" width="432" height="250" wmode="transparent" /]

These are just three…there is no way that I can post 50+ of these videos.

5 responses to “Animoto Projects

  1. mrgranito May 3, 2008 at 8:28 am

    Mr. Webb…This project is super simple and super fun for the kids. I also added a writing piece to it. You can see my directions at http://mrgranito.edublogs.org/projects. I’d like to know how it turns out.

  2. Mr Webb May 3, 2008 at 2:58 am

    I loved the combining of historical pictures with a modern concept. We’ve just completed School Holidays here in New Zealand, but when the students get back on Monday I’ll get them to check this site out, so they can get a handle on the work. Our class is Y8 so I think that equates to grade 8 in America… but the modern soundtrack was something I hadnt expected and out students will love that… awesome. We’re at tamakitoday.blogspot.com

  3. mrgranito March 20, 2008 at 6:09 am

    Fran, the directions for the project are posted on my project page. We just finished a unit that covered from WWI through WWII. They had to choose a topic, find 12-15 pictures that related to that topic, create the video, then write 2 paragraphs about what they created. One paragraph about the topic, the second about their pictures and how they relate to the topic. I had a few guiding questions for them to follow.

  4. Fran March 19, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    Mr. G – these are great! What assignment was given to produce these? I know students love creating their own “history music videos,” but what knowledge were you assessing? What did the students do along with this? Asking these questions because this is something I would love to share with our history teachers.

    As a former English teacher, I can think of at least one thing to use animoto for: If a picture is worth a thousand words, then use pictures to define a word.

  5. Cathy Nelson March 18, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Give me a break! (I really should NOT have said that, huh?) Okay so I was not available, but u could give me a little cred—remember the site was blocked and I managed to get the door pried open AND I am the one who suggested it….These are awesome and your students have done a fabulous job. As far as the one at a time business, live and learn….. Think of how much help this will be to some other learner/learning faciliator who is considering a similar project! But KUDOS tot he kids, they have rocked my world with A N I M O T O !

Leave a Reply

