The Kneighborhood of Knowledge

"Hey…Neighborhood is spelled wrong!"

Project Week

This past week was crazy!! I had my students create a VoiceThread. During the week I had to contend with several different obstacles. The first issue came with the jumbled up schedule due to MAP testing. Everyday had different times to meet with the classes. Then I had to deal with a blocked website. That was ok because I had a password to get past the firewall, but I had to put in the password every single time the students went to the website or even refreshed the page. It got old quick. Then my headsets with microphones came just at the nick of time, unfortunately getting them all to work with the computers was another issue. I had to log on to the computers as me and not as student, just to go into the control panel and fix the microphone settings. After all was said and done, only about half of my students finished their projects when I wanted them to finish. There were too many technical difficulties to contend with. Next time I know I’ll be better prepared for this. Even though, towards the end of the week I had a short fuse, I was extremely happy with the out come of the projects. I’ll post the links to the VoiceThreads later on in the week, once everyone has finished.

In addition to creating the VoiceThreads, I had a handful of my students create our podcast for the week. I ended up mixing all of their comments, but they created the entire podcast.

Here it is…

Project Week

One response to “Project Week

  1. technotuesday December 2, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    I think things went surprisingly smooth despite the issues. I learned a lot too. Still leery about those pix, but the kids seemed very happy. I want to share a little video with you where Dr, White interviewed your kids. She was HIGHLY impressed with the engaging project your class worked on. This was a great example of engaging work. The Schlechty Center has developed ten characteristics used to identify engaging schoolwork. The design qualities are:

    * Content and Substance: Educators, in collaboration with the community, identify the essential learnings and skills that students must master.
    * Organization of Knowledge: Content is organized so that access to the material is clear and relatively easy for all students.
    * Product Focus: Engaging work almost always focuses on a product or performance of value to students.
    * Clear and Compelling Product Standards: The Standards for assessing the products or the performances are clear and important to students.
    * Protection from Adverse Consequences for Initial Failures: Students receive feedback on their work and have opportunities to reach the Standard throughout the process.
    * Affirmation of Performance: Student products are observed by persons other than the teacher.
    * Affiliation: The design of the work requires cooperative action among students and adults.
    * Novelty and Variety: The work is varied in methods and format so that students use a variety of skills, media, and modes of analysis.
    * Choice: Students are provided with choice in the ways of doing the work and the methods of presentation.
    * Authenticity: The work has significance and is related to consequences in the present lives of students.

    I would say that the project covered the majority of these characteristics. You go dude! You are definitely an amazing teacher who is a risk taker and has a lot of potential.

    So, what’s the next project? Let’s look at Photostory.

Leave a Reply

